Current Lab Members


Ernest Arenas

Professor of Stem Cell Neurobiology

ResearchGate; PubMed; ORCiD


Carmen Salto

Senior Researcher



Emilia Síf Ásgrimsdottir

Doctoral student

Emilia did her masters study at Aarhus University, Denmark. She is interested in developmental neuroscience. She will focus on in vitro differentiation of human ES cells to dopaminergic neurons.


Ka Wai (Kawai) Lee

Research assistant

Kawai did her bachelor’s study in molecular biology, and has developed an interest in bioinformatics and single cell techniques during her master’s degree. She is interested in applying bioinformatics in the field of developmental neuroscience.


Anqi Xiong

Postdoctoral researcher

Anqi obtained her PhD in Neuro-oncology at the Uppsala University in Sweden. Her interests include cellular reprogramming as a therapeutic approach for Parkinson’s disease.




Postdoctoral researcher positions

Please, send your inquiries by e-mail to and include the following information:





Lucie Woloszczukova

Internship student

Anja Hess

Project student

Kaneyasu Nishimura

Senior Researcher
Currently Assistant Professor at Division of Integrated Pharmaceutical Sciences, Kyoto Pharmaceutical University

ORCiD; ResearchGate

Alena Salašová

PhD Student, defended Mar. 2018, Identification of novel Wnt/PCP signaling regulators and their role in midbrain dopaminergic neuron development and Parkinson's disease

Daniel Gyllborg

PhD Student, defended Sep. 2017, Molecular and Cellular Characterization of Midbrain Dopaminergic Neuron Development
ORCiD; ResearchGate; PubMed; LinkedIn

Enrique M Toledo

ORCiD; ResearchGate; Google Scholar

Dawei Zhang

ORCiD; PubMed

J. Carlos Villaescusa

Assistant Professor

Has started his own group at the Psychiatric Stem Cell Group

Pia Rivetti di Val Cervo

Postdoctoral researcher

Now working in lab of Elena Cattaneo

Chika Yokota

Senior Researcher

Geeta Ravindran

Karol Kaiser

Isabel Martin-Caballero

Spyridon Theofilopoulos

Mark Denham

Fabia Febbraro

Lukáš Čajánek

Diogo Ribeiro

Emma R Andersson

Paola Sacchetti

Gonçalo Castelo-Branco

Kyle M. Sousa

Nina Rawal

Linda Edman

Sonia Bonilla

Gunnar Schulte

Clare L. Parish

Vítězslav Bryja